Do I have to take mana from my deck or hand when tapping this card?How do dual lands and their mana work?Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?Is cycling a card from your hand considered a spell?What happens when you play Cloudshift on Borderland Ranger?Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped?How does exiling cards for Delve work?Why does this ability have its mana cost written twice?Does Unbridled Growth provide two mana or one?Does MTG have a card with a mana-generating ability that has a target and is thus not a mana ability?Underrealm Lich and Divination

What is the period/term used describe Giuseppe Arcimboldo's style of painting?

Is divisi notation needed for brass or woodwind in an orchestra?

What is the tangent at a sharp point on a curve?

If the Dominion rule using their Jem'Hadar troops, why is their life expectancy so low?

Why would five hundred and five same as one?

Why is indicated airspeed rather than ground speed used during the takeoff roll?

Strange behavior in TikZ draw command

Exposing a company lying about themselves in a tightly knit industry (videogames) : Is my career at risk on the long run?

Toggle window scroll bar

Derivative of an interpolated function

Mortal danger in mid-grade literature

How do you justify more code being written by following clean code practices?

Has the laser at Magurele, Romania reached the tenth of the Sun power?

Trouble reading roman numeral notation with flats

"Oh no!" in Latin

Why didn't Voldemort know what Grindelwald looked like?

Why is participating in the European Parliamentary elections used as a threat?

What (if any) is the reason to buy in small local stores?

"Marked down as someone wanting to sell shares." What does that mean?

Why is implicit conversion not ambiguous for non-primitive types?

Do people actually use the word "kaputt" in conversation?

Put the phone down / Put down the phone

How do I lift the insulation blower into the attic?

Taking my research idea outside my paid job



Do I have to take mana from my deck or hand when tapping this card?


How do dual lands and their mana work?Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?Is cycling a card from your hand considered a spell?What happens when you play Cloudshift on Borderland Ranger?Why would I want to use the activated ability of “Scalding Tarn”?How much mana does Radiant Fountain provide when tapped?How does exiling cards for Delve work?Why does this ability have its mana cost written twice?Does Unbridled Growth provide two mana or one?Does MTG have a card with a mana-generating ability that has a target and is thus not a mana ability?Underrealm Lich and Divination













2















I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.




















  • Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    39 mins ago















2















I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.




















  • Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    39 mins ago













2












2








2








I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?










share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.












I have a land card, for example Stone Quarry which reads "T: Add R or W." Do I take the mana from my library or my hand?







magic-the-gathering






share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.











share|improve this question









New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited 1 hour ago









Glorfindel

5,65111541




5,65111541






New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.









asked 2 hours ago









user26844user26844

111




111




New contributor




user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.





New contributor





user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.






user26844 is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering.
Check out our Code of Conduct.












  • Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    39 mins ago

















  • Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

    – doppelgreener
    39 mins ago
















Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

– doppelgreener
39 mins ago





Related: How do dual lands and their mana work?

– doppelgreener
39 mins ago










1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes


















5














You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.






share|improve this answer






















    Your Answer








    StackExchange.ready(function()
    var channelOptions =
    tags: "".split(" "),
    id: "147"
    ;
    initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

    StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
    // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
    if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
    StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
    createEditor();
    );

    else
    createEditor();

    );

    function createEditor()
    StackExchange.prepareEditor(
    heartbeatType: 'answer',
    autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
    convertImagesToLinks: false,
    noModals: true,
    showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
    reputationToPostImages: null,
    bindNavPrevention: true,
    postfix: "",
    imageUploader:
    brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
    contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
    allowUrls: true
    ,
    noCode: true, onDemand: true,
    discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
    ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
    );



    );






    user26844 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









    draft saved

    draft discarded


















    StackExchange.ready(
    function ()
    StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45566%2fdo-i-have-to-take-mana-from-my-deck-or-hand-when-tapping-this-card%23new-answer', 'question_page');

    );

    Post as a guest















    Required, but never shown

























    1 Answer
    1






    active

    oldest

    votes








    1 Answer
    1






    active

    oldest

    votes









    active

    oldest

    votes






    active

    oldest

    votes









    5














    You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



    Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



    When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



    Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.






    share|improve this answer



























      5














      You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



      Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



      When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



      Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.






      share|improve this answer

























        5












        5








        5







        You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



        Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



        When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



        Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.






        share|improve this answer













        You are confusing Lands with Mana, a common beginners' mistake.



        Mana is a resource that you use to cast spells; it is not represented by cards; you can not physically see it. When you tap a land, such as a Mountain, you add a red mana to your mana pool, which means you now have 1 red mana to spend.



        When you tap a Stone Quarry, you choose to either add a red mana to your mana pool, or to add a white mana to your mana pool. Either way you end up with 1 mana in your mana pool. You do not get any land cards from your library or your hand.



        Note that tapping a Stone Quarry is very similar to tapping a Mountain. When you tap a Mountain, you are activating an ability that says ""T:Add R." This ability is just not printed on the card for basic lands; it is instead within the rulebook for all basic lands.







        share|improve this answer












        share|improve this answer



        share|improve this answer










        answered 2 hours ago









        GendoIkariGendoIkari

        44.1k392171




        44.1k392171




















            user26844 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.









            draft saved

            draft discarded


















            user26844 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.












            user26844 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.











            user26844 is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.














            Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!


            • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

            But avoid


            • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

            • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

            To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




            draft saved


            draft discarded














            StackExchange.ready(
            function ()
            StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45566%2fdo-i-have-to-take-mana-from-my-deck-or-hand-when-tapping-this-card%23new-answer', 'question_page');

            );

            Post as a guest















            Required, but never shown





















































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown

































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown







            Popular posts from this blog

            Андора Зьмест Гісторыя | Палітыка | Адміністрацыйны падзел | Геаграфія | Эканоміка | Дэмаграфія | Крыніцы | Вонкавыя спасылкі | Навігацыйнае мэню"CIA World Factbook entry: Andorra"."Andorra 2008, Departament d'estadística d'Andorra"Андорарр

            Інфармацыя пра «Том Ўэйтс» Асноўныя зьвесткіАбарона старонкіГісторыя рэдагаваньняўУласьцівасьці старонкіНавігацыйнае мэню